Wednesday, February 27, 2008

India Enter to Final with Ausssies

CB Triangular Series, Hobart: India bt Sri Lanka by seven wickets India are through to the final of the Commonwealth Bank Series after a seven-wicket victory over Sri Lanka. Previously Dhoni Won the Toss and elected to Bowl.

SL bat first losing the wicket of opener Perera in the third over, Sanath Jayasuriya and Kumar Sangakkara shared a 50-run partnership before Sri Lanka lost six wickets for 21 runs in just over 10 overs.But after slumping to 93 for seven, Chamara Kapugedera's 57 helped Mahela Jayawardene's side at least give the bowlers a total to defend.They began brightly by taking the wicket of Robin Uthappa in the second over.A 102-run partnership between Sachin Tendulkar and an unbeaten Gautam Gambhir secured the win in Hobart.India were set 180 to win after Ishant Sharma and Praveen Kumar claimed four wickets each to dismiss Sri Lanka.Tendulkar (63) and Gambhir (64) guided India home with more than 17 overs to .But Rohit Sharma (3no) and Gambhir and Tendulkar rounded off the empathic victory.

Praveen Kumar announces Man of Match

There are three final matches in the series , the first match of the final takes place in Sydney on Sunday.

No comments: